Weasel Run

www.natureheads.com

I can't believe I was two steps away from a Weasel

A wet and wild weasel  got me jumping on Saturday. I was amazed to see one in the garden. Three times it zipped up and down a path, and away again. The creature was soaked, it was raining and blowing a gale.

Mad for nature as I am, I couldn’t resist running outside, with even the ridiculously tiny chance of seeing this mad mammal again. More than a glimpse is a rare treat. But it hadn’t gone far – it was running back and forth across the road, just outside my place. I froze still against the garage wall and let the weasel get on with whizzing along what I think must be a series of short patrol lines.

Absorbed by its frenzy, the weasel was only slightly distracted when it noticed me, as it ran nearby under my garage door, out again within a second, and then disappeared along a fence line. View my Berkshire Autumnwatch gallery.

Words and pictures © Jason Ball
jasonball@natureheads.com

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Weasel Run”

  1. Linda Says:

    Congratulations! And it appears your quick action was worth it judging from the nifty photo you got. I have my first encounter with a weasel last year and will never forget it as long as I live–just happened to turn around at just the right moment and there it was. Sadly, I did not get a photo. And I think our weasel here in California is a bit smaller than your species.
    A great critter sighting!

Leave a Reply

